To make this site simpler, we place small data files on your computer known as cookies. Most of our cookies are strictly necessary in order for the website to function correctly and these cookies do not store any of your personal data.

We also allow you to choose whether to allow Google Analytics cookies or not. Google Analytics cookies improve our understanding of how you use the website so we can make sure it meets your needs. If you should choose to accept the Google Analytics cookie, we will still anonymise all data collected.

Click here to find out more on the SFO's privacy policy and use of cookies.

Analytics Cookies

Serious Fraud Office 2011-12 accounts

1 November, 2012 | Statements

The National Audit Office has today published the report by the Comptroller and Auditor General who has qualified his audit opinion on the 2011-12 accounts of the Serious Fraud Office.

This is in respect of payments in relation to redundancy terms agreed with the former Chief Executive Officer Phillippa Williamson by the previous Director Richard Alderman on 16 April 2012.

The present Director David Green CB QC took up post on 21 April 2012.  Upon learning of the exit terms he asked Treasury Solicitors Office to conduct a full independent inquiry.  He took legal advice as to the enforceability of the agreement and notified the National Audit Office of his decision not to seek retrospective approval from HM Treasury of what he considered unjustified expenditure.  

Notes for editors:

  1. The Serious Fraud Office is a government department responsible for investigating and prosecuting serious and complex fraud and corruption. The SFO is headed by the Director (David Green CB QC) who exercises powers under the superintendence of the Attorney General. These powers are derived from the Criminal Justice Act (1987).